Department of Tribal Affairs and Hills

Government of Manipur

Administration Structure

1. During the year, 2012-2013, the Department is headed by the Additional Chief Secretary. He is assisted by one Joint Secretary and one Under Secretary at the Secretariat. He is also assisted by the Director at the Directorate level. The Director is again assisted by one Joint Director, 6(six) Deputy Directors, 1(one) OSD, 6(six) Assistant Directors in the General Administration side. In the field of Engineering/Technical works, the Director is assisted by 1(one) Executive Engineer, 5(five) Assistant Engineers and 13(thirteen) Section Officers.

2. The election to the 6(six) Autonomous District Councils in the State was held during the year, 2010, the State Government has been making serious attempt to enable effective functioning of the Councils. In this view of the matter, the State Govt. has effected the restructuring in the administrative structure in matters related to Hills administration. Accordingly, the erstwhile Department for Development of Tribal & Scheduled Caste has been renamed as Tribal affairs & Hills Department and given the responsibility of the Autonomous District Councils. Simultaneously, the Scheduled Castes administration has been transferred to the Minorities & Other Backward Classes Department.

3. The Department has taken up initiative for major decentralization of administration through transfer 50% of the allocations under the different schemes to the ADCs along with formula for intra-transfer of resources amongst the ADCs. Furthermore, the remaining 50% of the fund will be utilized on the basis of recommendation of the District Level Screening Committee chaired by the respective Deputy Commissioners, Necessary guidelines have been issued and it is expected that the above reforms would ensure more inclusive implementation of the schemes.